This is the "Home" page of the "Database Trials" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Database Trials  

Last Updated: Feb 20, 2013 URL: http://libguides.howard.edu/databasetrialshulibraries Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail AlertsShareThis
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 
 

Building Green

Building Green  

An important resource for sustainable design providing access to innovative technologies relevant to building and landscape architecture, interior design, engineering, and construction management. The suite includes Green Building 101, in-depth articles, case studies, green material assessments, as well as an assortment of teaching resources. This resource has value for students and teachers alike

 

Paley Center Media Collection

Paley Center Media Collection

Duration: 14 January - 4 February 2013

Description via Vendor's site "The Paley Center for Media, with locations in New York and Los Angeles, leads the discussion about the cultural, creative, and social significance of television, radio, and emerging platforms for the professional community and media-interested public." The streaming video collection comprise of over 18,000+ television shows, radio programs & commercials. Search collection by title, genre, airdate, advertiser, commercials, and television networks. Note: HU-users are required to create an account.

**Please note: First time users must first register at: http://www.paleyicollection.org/Library.aspx#/Register/ F2BA1E39-7601-484D-AEA1-5C4368A1021E

Registered (repeat) users can access the collection using the Paley Center for Media iCollections (title link) or http://www.paleyicollection.org

 

Web of Knowledge

The Library has trial access to Thomson Reuters' Web of Science until December 11, 2012. 

The following products and years have been made available for searching. 

Web of Science:

            Science Citation Index Expanded 1975-present

            Social Sciences Citation Index®  1975-present

            Arts & Humanities Citation Index® 1975-present 

The URL for the Web of Science via Web of Knowledge is: http://webofknowledge.com 

Direct questions or concerns to ahumber@howard.edu

 

World News Links from NewsBank

During the 2013 Spring Semester, we will be conducting a trial for World News Links from NewsBank.  

Find diverse global perspectives on topics related to controversial issues, the environment, health, education, science, the arts, literature, business, economics, criminal justice, and more from a variety of current and retrospective news media including newspapers, newswires, broadcast transcripts, blogs, periodicals, videos and web-only content.

The Access World News Research Program is available at this URL which will take you to the home page: http://infoweb.newsbank.com

 

New Testament Abstracts and Old Testament Abstracts

New Testament Abstracts (Ebsco Support Site)

Description via ATLA:"New Testament Abstracts (NTA) is produced by ATLA in partnership with Boston College.  Abstracts are in English.

Total number of records: 69,500+

Update frequency: annually--July

Type of records: abstracts of articles, reviews, and software and more than 18,900 book summaries

Coverage areas: New Testament general, Gospels-Acts, Epistles-Revelation, Biblical Theology and the World of the New Testament."

 

 

Old Testament Abstracts (Ebsco Support Site)

Description via ATLA: "Old Testament Abstracts (OTA) is produced by ATLA in partnership with the Catholic Biblical Association. All abstracts are in English regardless of the language of the original work. Sources are predominantly journal articles but also include books, essays, and software.

Total number of records: 54,900+

Update frequency: annually--April

Type of records: abstracts of articles, essays, and software and more than 7,900 book summaries

Coverage areas: antiquities, archaeology, biblical theology, and philology."

 

 

For access:  go to the library's homepage <www.howard.edu/library>; Select Research Databases and select databases beginning with the letters E-F; Select EbscoHost and then Select Choose Databases to access the trials.

 

Trial ends March 1, 2013

 

 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip